Queen Elizabeth II: The Longest-Reigning Monarch in British History

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 14.05.23

Congratulations are obviously in order for Queen Elizabeth II who overtook Queen Victoria’s previously held title as the longest-reigning monarch in British history. Yesterday marked her 63rd year on the throne.

Seeing as how I haven’t had as much time to dedicate a post to her for this occasion, and I figured other sites would have far better posts for her, I figured a little shout out will have to do for now.

For other Queen Elizabeth posts here at Duchess-at-Large, click here.

2 thoughts on “Queen Elizabeth II: The Longest-Reigning Monarch in British History

  1. jamiemid

    She has always been a part of my life since I was a child. I grew up seeing her picture and reading about her, but I must confess, that as a very young child I would look at Betty Crocker on boxes of cake mix and think that the queen made cake mixes! The old pictures of Betty Crocker did look somewhat like the queen did in the forties or whenever that logo was launched. Before my time, but still, as a child I was convinced the shelf of cake mixes in the cupboard came from her, and I liked her very much. As I got older, I found many things to admire about her. Her life has been difficult and filled with challenges, and she has faced them with honesty and courage. There is much to admire. To me she will always be everyone’s queen, and not just England’s. May she live and reign for a very long time. We will lose a great deal when she is gone.

    1. Anna E. Allen

      Oh my days. The cake mixes thing is hilarious! 🙂 So sweet! I agree so much about her being everyone’s Queen. That’s so brilliantly put. She is an amazing lady, to say the least!

Leave a Reply

