My Swedish Royal Wedding Adventure: Pt. I

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 10.58.50When I moved back to Germany last October, I made a vow (pun intended) to myself that I would make it to a royal wedding, and lucky for me a longtime blog friend who lives in Stockholm kindly offered to host me. So, back in January I submitted my vacation requests for the summer—shoutout to Germany’s generous allotment of vacation days, 28 for me per year! My coworkers laughed it off, they couldn’t believe i was literally going to Stockholm to see the Swedish wedding.

10919256_582782891853074_145020729_n

Side note: Hey to all my coworkers reading this right now. 😉 So glad that this little blog made its rounds through the office mail (HA!) I’m only a little bit embarrassed, except not in the least.

Two months ago I bought my tickets to Sweden and that was that.

I arrived in Sweden last Thursday and immediately fell in love with everything. And then I met my longtime blog friend and she gifted me the plates shown above. I screamed with joy.

These plates are a big deal to me on so many levels, first of which, HELLO, ROYAL MEMORABILIA. Secondly, I just moved into my very own first-all-mine apartment and have approximately no things. These plates are my first grown-up-household-gift. And lastly, I’m so flattered that my friend would bestow them to me, I’ll have them forever, and forever be thankful for her kind gesture.

So after I came down (actually, I’ll probably never fully recover) from my initial Sweden high, I had a lot of preparing to do for the wedding. And by that I mean I had to figure out where to go and how to get there and the best place to stand. Which really only took 20 minutes of research in reality. But let’s pretend like I had a room with pictures and articles posted all over the walls with strings connecting them all like I made this into a proper operation. (Or maybe not, because that image sounds a bit too real and a bit like I’m a nutcase.)

Really I was bumming wifi off the neighborhood coffee shop trying to sift through Swedish news sites for any info. But that’s neither here, nor there…

Leave a Reply

