The Latest Buzz: Prince William flew among peasants; Prince Harry wants Cressida back; Where are Kate and George?

William and Kate Harry and Cressida

 

Prince William and economy (seating)

Prince William Flies Econony

People are praising Prince William after a US reporter tweeted a photo of the Prince flying ‘coach’ (a term Americans use for economy seating) on an American Airlines flight from Memphis to Dallas. In the words of Doge, Much brave. Nice save. Such peasant. Very relate.

At first, I was actually impressed. I may have even been among those in appreciation of the Prince’s gesture, flying among the peasants and all… until I started looking into the whole thing. Here’s the thing, it was a flight from Memphis to Dallas. A flight lasting 1 hour and 30 minutes at most. Also, he’s sitting at the very front, and boarded privately from the rest of the passengers. Ok… but such domestic flights, especially when such a short distance, don’t even have options for First Class seating… the first couple of seats are merely considered First Class. But hey, after a trip that cost UK taxpayers a reported $84,000 for security of the young royals during their jaunt to the Memphis wedding. But footed the bill for the trip–aside from the security–themselves. Had Kate been with him, I highly doubt we’d have seen them fly coach, unless, of course, for PR purposes.

Had William flown among us peasants in economy from Dallas to London, well then I’d be rather impressed. But he obviously didn’t, or we’d have that being shoved down our throats, too.

As for Prince Harry’s travel arrangements back to the UK? I think Vanity Fair said it best:

Harry, however, was nowhere to be seen on William’s flight, which means it is still possible thetwerk-happynewly single redhead returned to London on a gold-plated private jet piloted by Snoop Dogg, populated by the casts of the three most recent Real World seasons, and D.J.ed by an Avicii-Skrillex collaboration. 

Prince Harry plus Cressida equals?

Cressida and Harry

Drama. Lots of drama. The amount of conflicting reports, sometimes from the same news source (hello, Daily Mail!), what are we really to believe? Was she ‘too needy’ or not? Is Prince Harry ‘bombarding‘ her with 15 texts a day? Does this have Kate’s fingerprints all over it? (Spoiler alert: probably.) Is it not over for the two? Who knows. I certainly hope so. I’m still pulling for Chelsy Davy… but that’s a story for another post, maybe later this week?

Anyway, I wanted to post this solid point from a comment I got about the whole debacle (and my saying I think Prince Harry’s camp should apologize for the ‘too needy’ accusation):

I don’t think his camp needs to apologize for calling her needy because her camp has been treading on him in the press as well. She would have been a major headache had she married in because that family of hers has been doing nothing but courting the press and leaking since he started dating her. Notice how there are only paparazzi photos of her and engagement rumors when Harry is out of the UK. She also has been represented by StuartWattsPr since they began dating. Those were her intentions from the beginning. I don’t feel sorry for her she tried to play the game and she lost.

*Slow Clap* Great point.

(I love your all’s comments! Keep them coming. I had hoped this site would start discussions!)

Royal roll call

The Duke And Duchess Of Cambridge Tour Australia And New Zealand - Day 1

Though I’d be lying if I said I expected to see them for months after their vacation grueling tour and all their work, I wish we could see a little bit of George in the country he will someday rule… but, seeing as how they pretty much hid him for 7 months after his christening, I’m an idiot to expect anything else. Maybe we’ll see him on his sixteenth birthday if the media continues to play into all of Prince William and Kate’s requests, maybe.

Many are speculating that the ducal couple headed straight from Australia to yet another holiday, perhaps even Switzerland to ski. (Prince William was seen in the Swiss Air lounge in Chicago.) Love, Lola has a really good post about just this topic.

I think skiing is anything but a vacation–holy workout!–but I also think the Royal Tour was anything but ‘a lot of work.’ But then again, I’ve never had to have my hair and makeup done every morning, don custom dresses, and collect dozens of bouquets from doting fans for a few hours everyday, so who am I to know the stress Kate must endure each day on behalf of the monarchy.

So much gossip to process. I don’t even really know how I feel about it all. What are your thoughts?

Photo credits: image one (custom by me) // image two // image three // image four
One thought on “The Latest Buzz: Prince William flew among peasants; Prince Harry wants Cressida back; Where are Kate and George?

  1. Pingback: Royal Rewind: Week of May 9, 2014 | Duchess-at-Large

Leave a Reply

